Sound and vision blog

Sound and moving images from the British Library

08 October 2010

New collection of historic chamber music recordings on ASR

Much has been written on historic recordings of orchestral, vocal and instrumental music but far less research has been done on early chamber music recordings. The first batch of chamber music recordings made before 1925 are now online and one performing group, The Philharmonic String Quartet, has been chosen because their discs are rare and difficult to find. Indeed, a number of these discs were only acquired very recently in a donation from the estate of conductor Eugene Goossens who played second violin in the group at the beginning of his career.  The other original members of the group were Arthur Beckwith (violin), Raymond Jeremy (viola) and Cedric Sharpe (cello); all were born around 1890, so when the quartet was formed in 1915 they were in their mid-twenties.


Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been saved. Comments are moderated and will not appear until approved by the author. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until the author has approved them.